Miracle in a Dry Season    Dangerous Passage

TitleTrakk.com

Unseen 

Danny Gospel by David Athey

David AtheyThe David Athey File:

Review of Danny Gospel

Excerpt of Danny Gospel

Buy David's Books:

Christianbook.com logo   Amazon Logo


The Advocate



Danny Gospel
by David Athey

Reviewed by Sheryl Root

"Danny Gospel is a book that will touch your heart and speak to your spirit."

David Athey's first novel, Danny Gospel, is a lyrically written, poignant account of a young man's struggle to find his way in life after multiple tragedies push him slightly over the edge. Readers who enjoy Charles Martin, Lisa Samson and Nicole Seitz will appreciate not only Athey's luminous writing, but also the depth of humanity that permeates this story. Danny Gospel is a book that will touch your heart and speak to your spirit.

Danny spent his childhood traveling, singing gospel hymns with his family. Soon, their celebrity status throughout Iowa had people forgetting their true name and they became known simply as the Gospel Family. But those days are now over. One early morning in October 2001, Danny wakens to find a lovely woman in white standing by his bed. After she softly kisses him, she vanishes. So begins Danny's journey to find this mysterious vision and, hopefully, to reclaim and grab hold of the life he is sure waits for him just around the corner.

Athey weaves the threads of Danny's past expertly throughout the story, and introduces characters who are unique, eccentric and captivating. While their writing styles and genres are very different, the depth of story layers reminds me of Ted Dekker's novels. Danny Gospel is a book that will unveil more secrets each time it is read.

If you desire to share a journey toward dreams, hope and faith while being enchanted by the beauty of the words that take you there, don't miss Danny Gospel.

Sheryl RootSheryl Root is Partner Database Manager at OneHope, a non-profit organization whose mission is to reach every child with God’s Word. She’s also a writer and a reader of everything she can get her hands on … books, blogs, magazines. In other words, she’s both a data geek and a book nerd. She loves to be able to support Christian authors and spread the word on great books and is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers, a wonderful community of published and yet to be published writers. You can follow her on Twitter at @Sheryl_Root.