Miracle in a Dry Season    Dangerous Passage





Lost Songs by Anberlin

AnberlinThe Anberlin File:

Rebecca St. James' Website

Review of New Surrender
Review of Cities
Review of Lost Songs

Buy Anberlin's music:


The Advocate

Lost Songs
by Anberlin

Reviewed by Cory Clubb

"Anberlin has always packed a punch when releasing new albums ... with Lost Songs Anberlin gives the listener a bout of great diversity."

I’ve always avoided listened to b-sides and acoustic versions of popular songs done by artists. They just seem to say, “Here are our songs we changed and played on acoustic guitar.” Sometimes, as Lost Songs has done, they collect them all together and sell them as a new album.


Not so here. Anberlin has always packed a punch when releasing new albums, whether it be a new tune or cover. With Lost Songs, Anberlin gives the listener a bout of great diversity. Fans who purchased their latest album Cities (2007) Expanded Edition will recognize three of the tracks here. The casual listeners will hear acoustic versions of past recordings. But the kicker on the album is the cover songs, from Bob Dylan to The Smiths to Radiohead, lead singer Stephen Christian’s voice is amazing and dead on with these tracks.

So, maybe I take back what I said about B-sides and cover compilation albums. Seeing as how Anberlin has handled this addition to their growing career very well, almost any fan can enjoy the mix on this album. Oh, and if that’s not enough, Lost Songs even has, well, a “lost song” hidden on the album.

Track Listing:

1. The Haunting (Cities B-Side)
2. Uncanny (Cities B-Side)
3. Like A Rolling Stone (Bob Dylan Cover)
4. A Day Late (acoustic)
5. Enjoy The Silence (Depeche Mode Cover)
6. Cadence (acoustic)
7. Downtown Song (Never Take... B-Side)
8. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out (The Smiths Cover)
9. Dismantle.Repair. (acoustic)
10. The Promise (When In Rome Cover) (Cities B-Side)
11. Naive Orleans (acoustic)
12. Inevitable (AOL Music Under Cover Sessions)
13. The Unwinding Cable Car (AOL Music Under Cover Sessions)
14. Creep (AOL Music Under Cover Sessions)
15. Baby Please Come Home (Happy Christmas Vol. 4)
16. Ready Fuels (demo)
17. Driving (Autobahn) (demo)
18. Everywhere In Between (demo)
19. Glass To The Arson (16 Bit Remix)

Cory ClubbCory Clubb is author of the novel Saved by Grace and currently working on his first thriller. He holds a degree in Graphic Design and is always seeking to advance his talent as a writer. He is an avid reader, movie buff, and music enthusiast, tools he uses to infuse his imagination. He lives in central Illinois with his wife and three sons. You can find out more about his projects at his blog.